

For immediate release: 09/24/2024

Patra Brown, Co-president, League of Women Voters of the Morris Area

vote@lwvmorrisarea.org 973-400-9103

lwvmorrisarea.org

2024 Candidates Forums / Debates Hosted by the League of Women Voters of the Morris Area

The League of Women Voters of the Morris Area, along with its partners, has invited candidates to participate in forums / debates across Morris County and Congressional Districts 7 and 11. We have confirmed forums for Morris County Commissioners, three Municipal races and six Board of Education races to be held in September and October. Unfortunately, more than a dozen races will not have forums due to insufficient candidate participation, which is required to meet the League's nonpartisan policy.

For over a century, the League has provided unbiased information through forums/debates, candidate questionnaires, voter registration drives, and educational events. These forums are essential to promoting an informed and engaged electorate. Despite multiple attempts since August, many candidates declined or did not respond. The League thanks the candidates who are participating, allowing voters the opportunity to hear where they stand on key issues in a fair and inclusive setting. When candidates decline, voters miss out, and democracy suffers.

The League's forums / debates are strictly nonpartisan, moderated by trained professionals following FEC guidelines and the League's high standards. Questions are gathered from the public, carefully reviewed for relevance, and focused on issues candidates would address if elected. The League ensures no bias or personal attacks are allowed. As always, the League does not support or oppose any candidates or political parties.

Listed below are forums / debates that are confirmed and forums that could not be scheduled. We encourage the voters to reach out to their candidates to thank those participating and to urge those not yet committed to take this opportunity to present their positions to their constituents.

Confirmed Forums/Debates

All begin at 7:00 PM and can be viewed on the League of Women Voters of the Morris Area YouTube channel: youtube.com/@lwvmorrisarea.

Co-sponsors: Daily Record; New Jersey Hills Media Group; NAACP, Morris County Branch; Morris County Chamber of Commerce; Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc., Morristown Alumnae Chapter; Par-Troy Council of PTAs; Woman's Club of Parsippany-Troy Hills; Roxbury PTA/PTOs.

- Morris County Commissioner 10/29 Virtual
 Participating: John J. Krickus, William "Bud" Ravitz, Jonathan Sackett, Stephen H. Shaw,
 Deborah Smith, Justin Strickland
- Chatham Borough Council 9/26 Chatham Borough Town Hall Participating: Joseph Barrette, Katherine A. Hay, April Kabbash, Jocelyn Mathiasen
- Dover Council 9/16 <u>Watch</u>
 Participated: Sandra Wittner, Danny A. Jenkins, Karol Ruiz
 Declined/No Response: Nancy Pino, Geovani Estacio Carillo, Veronica Velez, Jhon

Londono



• Randolph Council 10/16 Virtual

Participating: Christine Carey, Sandra R. Fey, Joseph R. Hathaway, Josie A. Scanlan,

Jonathan W. Torres, Joanne Veech

Unexpired Term: William Ball, Denise Thornton

• **Denville Board of Ed** 10/8 Virtual

Participating: David H. F. Luer, Clifford Moore

Not Participating: Christian Astorino

• Mendham Borough Board of Ed 9/25 Virtual

Participating: Deborah D'Urso, Lauren Trialonas, Cristin Adinolfi

Declined: Carol Anne Pagana

• Mendham Township Board of Ed 9/30 Virtual

Participating: Adam P. Dubeck, Natasha Crossan, Spencer Raitt-Forrest, Peter Dumovic

• Parsippany-Troy Hills Board of Ed 10/1 Virtual

Participating: Judy Mayer, Sheethal Abraham, Matthew DeVitto, Susy Golderer, Victoria J. Stockdale

Rockaway Township Board of Ed 9/17 Watch

Participated: Jacalyn K. Richardson, Jemila Ann Tourne

Declined/No Response: Donna Marie Suszynski, April Matera-Patiro, John F. Sauers

• Roxbury Township Board of Ed 10/17 Roxbury Community School

Participating: Mirna Hernandez, Kim Hopkins, Andrew Schlam

Response Pending: Caitlyn Barba, David Faulkner, Jr., Kathleen Purcell

Canceled Forums

• CD 7 US House of Representatives

Agreed: Sue Altman

Declined: Thomas Kean, Jr.

• CD 11 US House of Representatives

Agreed: Joseph Belnome Declined: Mikie Sherrill

Morris County Surrogate

Agreed: Heather Darling Declined: John N. Holly

Boonton Town Council

Agreed: Melissa Couch, Marie De Venezia, Melissa Di Salvo, Benjamin Weisman No Response: Daniel A. Balan, Rovert F. Salvo, Michael Wade, Cyril Wekilsky

• Boonton Township Committee

Agreed: Raymond Menard

No Response: Thomas F. San Filippo, Jr.

• Chatham Township Committee

Lack of Consensus on Date: Craig Alperowitz, Mark Lois

• East Hanover Board of Ed



No Response or Declined: Sean Sullivan, Michelle Cuppari, Michelle Gonzalez

• Florham Park Board of Ed

Agreed: Faith Alcantara

Declined or No Response: Donna M. Feldman, Brian Perillo

• Florham Park Council

No Response: Scoot Carpenter, Joshua I. Marchal, John W. Upton

• Hanover Township Board of Ed

Agreed: Keith Cortright,

No Response: Frank Fasolo IV, Timothy Donohue

• Mendham Borough Council

Agreed: Mark Vandenhende, Robert Ritger Declined: Matthew Bruin, Alexandra Henry Traut

• Mendham Township Committee

Agreed: Susan Luciano, Mar Trokan

Declined or No Response: Sarah Neibart, Nick Monaghan

Morris Plains Council

Agreed: Tyler Pontier, William (Bill) Houston

Declined: Catherine "Cathie" Kelly, Adam C. Tyburski

Chester Borough West Morris Regional Board of Ed

Agreed: Debbie L. Gonzalez

No Response: Susan Siller Reuter